Guest post: Daisy Garofalo, BritGrad 2011 chair

A wise man once wrote that “brevity is the soul of wit.”  A not-so-wise man once showed how true that statement is!  I often find that I cannot say enough good things about BritGrad; however, in Shakespeare’s honor, I will try to be relatively brief.

My name is Daisy Garofalo and I was the Chair of last year’s BritGrad.  As such, BritGrad will always have a special place in my heart.  It truly is a unique conference and offers so much for postgraduate students with an interest in Shakespeare and Renaissance studies.

In each new year of experience with the conference I am amazed by the wonderful community that comes together and by seeing how ideas and interests are expanded and sparked throughout the three days.   BritGrad offers a friendly, welcoming environment for budding scholars to test their work and gain experience.  As internationally-recognised and affiliated with the prestigious Shakespeare Institute, the conference impresses on your CV.  However, geared toward postgrads and entirely run by students, BritGrad also focuses on making the experience less intimidating and more enjoyable.   

I think this is the reason so many postgraduates return to the conference year after year and also why there are so many well-known academics who are eager to get involved with the conference.  BritGrad has established an impressive reputation; however, it also always aims to continue growing, pushing the boundaries of what it can offer its delegates.  Each year the conference has grown in size and scope.  During my time as Chair, I was truly impressed with response which the conference received.  Not only did we have record numbers of delegates, but outside academics and institutions were eager to get involved with the conference as well.  Already from the announced plenary sessions, I can see that this year’s BritGrad will be no exception and the opportunities for networking and developing skills through these avenues will prove endless for delegates.   

I cannot begin to list all of the benefits that I have received through my experience with BritGrad.  Each year I leave the conference having developed my work, my career prospects, and my connections.  However, I also leave it sad that the experience is over and looking forward to the next year’s conference.  Whether attending as a seasoned conference-goer or presenting for the first time, postgraduates will find BritGrad an exciting and stimulating experience.  And I cannot recommend the conference enough.  I hope to see a lot of familiar faces and meet a variety of new friends this year as well!  So register and I will see you all in June!

 

[About the author:

Daisy Garofalo was the Chair of BritGrad 2011.  She completed her BA in English from Pepperdine University and MA in English Literature from the University of Warwick.  She is now working toward her PhD at the Shakespeare Institute, researching twinship and its dramatic representation in Early Modern England.]

Leave a Reply

  • Join 48 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

